Research

 

The laboratory solves a wide range of fundamental and applied problems of the physics of magnetic phenomena, nanoelectronics and nanomaterials. The main areas of work are related to the study of magnetic and magnetoresistive properties of films and nanostructures, the study of the effects of spin-orbit interaction on the domain structures and the formation of stable topological configurations of magnetization.


Innovative trends in the field of hybrid electronics are developed in the laboratory: basic elements of magnetic logic and memory, spin valves, semiconductor and magnetic neuromorphic devices, composite magnetic materials, diamond-like coatings.


Research projects in the laboratory are supported by Russian and international grants.


The work in the laboratory is conducted in close collaboration with Russian and foreign groups:


Dr Alain Nogaret, University of Bath (UK)
Dr Alexander Balanov and Dr Natalya Janson, Loughborough University (UK)
Dr Oleg Makarovsky, Nottingham University (UK)
Dr Andrii Chumak, University of Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Prof Dave Ritchie, Cambridge University (UK)
Prof W. Kuch, Free University of Berlin (Germany)
Prof Sergey Demokritov, Munster University (Germany)
Prof Konstantin Guslienko, Universidad del Pais Vasco, San Sebastian (Spain)
Dr Erik Wahlstrom, NTNU (Norway)
Prof Valentin Novosad, Argonne National Laboratory (USA)
Prof Andrey Slavin, Oakland University, Rochester (USA)
Dr Farkhad Aliev, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
Dr Farzad Nasirpouri, Sahand University of Technology (Iran)
Prof. Young Keun KIM, Korea University (Korea)
Prof. Zung-Hang Wei, National Tsing-Hua University (Taiwan)
Prof. Philip Pong, The University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
Prof Mikhail Kostylev, The University of Western Australia (Australia)
Prof. Oleg Tretiakov, University of New South Wales (Australia)
Prof. Xiufeng Han, Institute of Physics CAS (China)
Prof. Dr. Rudolf Schäfer, IFW Dresden (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Mathias Kläui, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (Germany)
Проф. С.А. Никитов, Институт радиотехники и электроники им. В.А. Котельникова РАН
Проф. А.А. Саранин, Институт автоматики и процессов управления ДВО РАН

Spin-dependent phenomena and noncollinear magnetic textures in synthetic antiferromagnets with broken inverse symmetry

In modern spintronics, the study of current-induced magnetization reversal (spin-orbit torque, SOT) processes in films containing materials with strong spin-orbit interaction is relevant and promising.

In the project, for the first time, antiferromagnetic Neelevsky type skyrmions in synthetic antiferromagnets will be experimentally obtained, and a new approach to the design of layered materials with controlled Dzyaloshinskii – Moria interaction will be developed. With the help of calculations, the conditions for the formation of AFM skyrmions and the features of their movement in systems with Dzyaloshinsky-Moria interaction will be analyzed. For the first time, the current-induced motion of AFM skyrmions, as well as effects due to the spin Hall effect in synthetic antiferromagnets, will be experimentally investigated. The results can be used to create simple and energy-efficient storage media and logic devices based on AFM skyrmions.

The project is supported by a grant from the Russian Foundation for Basic Research.

Up to 2 Master students can be supported within the project.

DMI AFM vortex skyrmions.jpg

Synthesis and complex study of magnetically hard materials based on Nd- (Fe, Co) nanoparticles with improved functional properties

The development of modern technologies, such as robotics, autonomous transport and small aircraft, electric transport, clean energy and other areas, it is difficult to imagine without strong permanent magnets, which are used in electric drives and generators.

In this project, with the help of doping, nanostructuring and spark plasma sintering, scientific and technological bases will be developed for creating magnetic materials from Nd-Fe-B based nanopowders, but with addition of praseodymium and cobalt. At the same time, the scientific basis for energy-efficient technology for the synthesis of Nd2 (Fe, Co) 14B and (Nd, Pr) 2 (Fe, Co) 14B nanopowders and technologies for producing hard magnetic materials using spark plasma sintering will be developed. The main focus will be on expanding the temperature range of operation of magnetic materials.

The search for optimal parameters of nanopowders, as well as sintering conditions to achieve a maximum of intergranular exchange interaction, increase hysteresis characteristics and increase magnetic energy (BH) max will allow the development of resource-saving technologies for the synthesis of hard magnetic materials.

The project is supported by a grant from the Russian Science Foundation.

Up to 3 Master students can be supported within the project.

NdFeCoB particals sintering hard magnets.jpg

Magnetic nanoparticles for biomedical applications

An initiative interdisciplinary project implemented jointly with scientists from the School of Natural Sciences and the School of Biomedicine, as well as a group of Prof. Y.K. Kim (Korea University, Seoul, South Korea).


Up to 2 graduate students can be trained within the project.

Biomed nanoparticals cancer.jpg

Development of a system for recording movement of the human body

Digitization and analysis of the movements carried out by humans, animals or robots, an urgent task for systems of complete and augmented virtual reality. High-precision recording of the movement of a person’s body, especially its limbs, such as hands, is important not only for the gaming industry, but also for special applications in industry, sports, medicine and education.


The goal of this project is to create a system for recording the movement of a human body (full body tracker), based on kinematic sensors and highly sensitive magnetic field sensors operating in a gradient magnetic field.


Up to 2 Master students can be trained within the project.

VR_prototip.JPG

Study of mechanisms of current-induced magnetization reversal of multilayer magnetic nanostructures with spin-orbit effects

Managing the magnetic properties of materials is one of the important tasks of modern electronics. A promising direction for solving this problem is the use of materials whose properties change when an electric current is passed. For the first time, induction in the magnetic layer of oblique magnetic anisotropy is proposed for breaking the magnetic symmetry of the structure and using a structured substrate for effective current-induced switching. Such an approach will allow testing the method of mutual change of the contributions of the spin Hall effect and the Rashba effect to the switching mechanism, and create as a result of the project implementation the simplest multilayer structure that does not require an additional external magnetic field for switching with current. The obtained new knowledge can be used in the development of new devices of functional electronics, in particular, magnetic logic and magnetoresistive memory.

The project is supported by a grant from the Russian Foundation for Basic Research.

Up to 2 Master students can be supported within the project.

 

SOT Switching spinorbitronica .jpg

Boundary interaction of Dzyaloshinsky-Moria in epitaxial symmetric multilayer structures

Studies over the past few years have shown the possibility of creating highly efficient devices of magnetic logic and non-volatile magnetic memory of a new generation. Such devices are based on ultra-fast and controlled displacement of skyrmions in three-layer asymmetric heavy metal1 / ferromagnetic / heavy metal2 structures using unpolarized current due to the spin Hall effect or the Rashba effect.

In this project, we will create a magnetic medium for recording and transmitting information based on single-crystal [Co / Pd (111)] n superlattices, satisfying all the requirements listed above. A significant manifestation of spin-orbit effects in a symmetrical system is due to the uneven structure of the interfaces above and below the ferromagnetic layers. Based on the experimental results, a qualitative physical model will be proposed explaining the increase in the Dzyaloshinsky-Moriya interaction in symmetric superlattices with an increase in the number of bilayers.

The project is supported by a grant from the Russian Foundation for Basic Research.

The project can support  1 Master student.

CoPd multilayers DMI.JPG

Diamond-like coatings for special applications

The development and study of non-porous thin-film diamond-like coatings (DLC) of the ta-C type (carbon in a tetrahedral amorphous form), the formation of which occurs without the addition of hydrogen, is an urgent task.

Such coatings have high hardness and wear resistance. They are used to improve performance and increase the service life of rubbing parts and industrial cutting tools used for working metals, including non-ferrous, plastic and composite materials.

In the project, we are working on new DLC coating modes for special applications - wear-resistant coatings for nanometrology, biomedical and aerospace applications.

An initiative project carried out in collaboration with scientists from the School of Natural Sciences and the Institute for Problems in Mechanics of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow.

Up to 2 Master students can be trained within the project.

DLC nano coating drill .jpg
eng (1)_NG.png

Office L445, FEFU Campus
10 Ajax Bay, Russky Island
Vladivostok, Russia

email: ognevav@gmail.com

© 2025 Alexander Samardak

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey

Наука

 

В лаборатории решается широкий круг фундаментальных и прикладных проблем физики магнитных явлений, наноэлектроники и наноматериалов. Основные направления работ связаны с исследованием магнитных и магниторезистивных свойств пленок и наноструктур, изучение эффектов спин-орбитального взаимодействия на доменную структур и образование устойчивых топологических конфигураций намагниченности.
 

Активно развиваются инновационные направления в области гибридной электроники: базовые элементы магнитной логики и памяти, спиновые вентили, полупроводниковые и магнитные нейроморфные устройства, композиционные магнитные материалы, алмазоподобные покрытия.
 

Научно-исследовательские проекты поддержаны российскими и международными грантами. 
 

Работа в лаборатории ведётся в тесной коллаборации с российскими и зарубежными группами:


Dr Alain Nogaret, University of Bath (UK)
Dr Alexander Balanov and Dr Natalya Janson, Loughborough University (UK)
Dr Oleg Makarovsky, Nottingham University (UK)
Dr Andrii Chumak, University of Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Prof Dave Ritchie, Cambridge University (UK)
Prof W. Kuch, Free University of Berlin (Germany)
Prof Sergey Demokritov, Munster University (Germany)
Prof Konstantin Guslienko, Universidad del Pais Vasco, San Sebastian (Spain)
Dr Erik Wahlstrom, NTNU (Norway)
Prof Valentin Novosad, Argonne National Laboratory (USA)
Prof Andrey Slavin, Oakland University, Rochester (USA)
Dr Farkhad Aliev, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
Dr Farzad Nasirpouri, Sahand University of Technology (Iran)
Prof. Young Keun KIM, Korea University (Korea)
Prof. Zung-Hang Wei, National Tsing-Hua University (Taiwan)
Prof. Philip Pong, The University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
Prof Mikhail Kostylev, The University of Western Australia (Australia)
Prof. Oleg Tretiakov, University of New South Wales (Australia)
Prof. Xiufeng Han, Institute of Physics CAS (China)
Prof. Dr. Rudolf Schäfer, IFW Dresden (Germany)
Prof. Dr. Mathias Kläui, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (Germany)
Проф. С.А. Никитов, Институт радиотехники и электроники им. В.А. Котельникова РАН
Проф. А.А. Саранин, Институт автоматики и процессов управления ДВО РАН

Актуальные проекты

В современной спинтронике исследование процессов токоиндуцированного перемагничивания (spin-orbit torque, SOT) в пленках, содержащих материалы с сильным спин-орбитальным взаимодействием, является актуальным и многообещающим.

 

В проекте будут впервые экспериментально получены антиферромагнитные скирмионы Неелевского типа в синтетических антиферромагнетиках, а также разработан новый подход к конструированию слоистых материалов с управляемым взаимодействием Дзялошинского – Мориа. При помощи расчетов будут проанализированы условия формирования АФМ скирмионов и особенности их движения в системах с взаимодействием Дзялошинского-Мориа. Впервые будет экспериментально исследовано токоиндуцированное движение АФМ скирмионов, а также эффекты, обусловленные спиновым эффектом Холла в синтетических антиферромагнетиках. Полученные результаты могут быть использованы для создания простых и энергоэффективных носителей информации и логических устройств на основе АФМ скирмионов.

Проект поддержан грантом РФФИ.

В рамках проекта могут быть поддержаны до 2 магистрантов 

Спин-зависимые явления и неколлинеарные магнитные текстуры в синтетических антиферромагнетиках с нарушенной инверсной симметрией

DMI AFM vortex skyrmions.jpg

Развитие современных технологий, такие как робототехника, автономный транспорт и малые летательные аппараты, электротранспорт, экологически чистая энергетика и другие направления, сложно представить без сильных постоянных магнитов, которые используются в электроприводах и генераторах.

В данном проекте с помощью легирования, наноструктурирования и искрового плазменного спекания будут разработаны научно-технологические основы создания магнитных материалов из нанопорошков на основе Nd-Fe-B, но с добавками празеодима и кобальта. При этом будут разработаны научные основы энергоэффективной технологии синтеза нанопорошков Nd2(Fe,Co)14B и (Nd,Pr)2(Fe,Co)14B и технологии получения магнитожестких материалов с помощью искрового плазменного спекания. Основной упор будет сделан на расширение температурного диапазона эксплуатации магнитных материалов.

 

Поиск оптимальных параметров нанопорошков, а также условий спекания для достижения максимума межзеренного обменного взаимодействия, увеличения гистерезисных характеристик и повышения магнитной энергии (BH)max позволит разработать ресурсосберегающие технологии синтеза магнитожестких материалов.

Проект поддержан грантом РНФ.

В рамках проекта могут быть поддержаны до 3 магистрантов 

Синтез и комплексное исследование магнитожестких материалов на основе наночастиц Nd-(Fe, Co) с улучшенными функциональными свойствами

NdFeCoB particals sintering hard magnets.jpg

Инициативный междисциплинарный проект, реализуемый совместно с учеными Школы естественных наук и Школы биомедицины ДВФУ, а также группой Prof. Y.K. Kim (Korea University, Seoul, South Korea)

В рамках проекта могут пройти обучение  до 2 магистрантов 

Магнитные наночастицы для биомедицинских применений

Biomed nanoparticals cancer.jpg

Оцифровка и анализ движений, осуществляемых человеком, животными или роботами, актуальная задача для систем полной и дополненной виртуальной реальности.  Высокоточная регистрация движения тела человека в особенности его конечностей, например, рук, важна не только для игровой индустрии, но и для специальных применений в промышленности, спорте, медицине и образовании.

Целью данного проекта, является создание системы регистрации движения тела человека (full body tracker), на основе кинематических датчиков и высокочувствительных сенсоров магнитного поля, работающей в градиентном магнитном поле.

В рамках проекта могут пройти обучение  до 2 магистрантов

Разработка системы регистрации движения тела человека

VR_prototip.JPG

Управление магнитными свойствами материалов является одной из важных задач современной электроники. Перспективным направлением для решения этой задачи является использование материалов, свойства которых изменяются при пропускании электрического тока. Впервые предлагается индуцирование в магнитном слое наклонной магнитной анизотропии для нарушения магнитной симметрии структуры и использования структурированной подложки для эффективного токоиндуцированного переключения.

 

Такой подход позволит апробировать методику взаимного изменения вкладов спинового эффекта Холла и эффекта Рашбы в механизм переключения, и создать в результате выполнения проекта максимально простую многослойную структуру, не требующую дополнительного внешнего магнитного поля для переключения током. Полученные новые знания могут быть использованы при разработке новых устройств функциональной электроники, в, частности, магнитной логики и магниторезистивной памяти.

Проект поддержан грантом РФФИ.

В рамках проекта могут быть поддержаны до 2 магистрантов 

Исследование механизмов токоиндуцированного перемагничивания многослойных магнитных наноструктур со спин-орбитальными эффектами

SOT Switching spinorbitronica .jpg

Исследования последних нескольких лет показали возможность создания высокоэффективных устройств магнитной логики и энергонезависимой магнитной памяти нового поколения. Такие устройства основаны на сверхбыстром и контролируемом смещении скирмионов в трехслойных асимметричных структурах типа тяжелый металл1/ферромагнетик/тяжелый металл2 с помощью неполяризованного тока за счет спинового эффекта Холла или эффекта Рашбы.

В данном проекте мы создадим магнитную среду записи и передачи информации на основе монокристаллических суперрешеток [Co/Pd(111)]n, удовлетворяющую всем вышеперечисленным требованиям. Значительное проявление спин-орбитальных эффектов в симметричной по составу системе обусловлено неодинаковой структурой интерфейсов сверху и снизу от ферромагнитных слоев. На основе экспериментальных результатов, будет предложена качественная физическая модель, объясняющая увеличение взаимодействия Дзялошинского-Мория в симметричных суперрешетках при росте числа бислоев.

Проект поддержан грантом РФФИ.

В рамках проекта может  быть поддержан 1 магистрант 

Граничное взаимодействие Дзялошинского-Мория в эпитаксиальных симметричных многослойных структурах

CoPd multilayers DMI.JPG

Разработка и изучение беспористых тонкопленочных алмазоподобных покрытий (АПП) типа ta-C (углерод в тетраэдрической аморфной форме), формирование которых происходит без добавления водорода, является актуальной задачей.

 

Такие покрытия обладают повышенной твердостью и износостойкостью. Они используются для улучшения рабочих характеристик и увеличения срока службы трущихся деталей и промышленных режущих инструментов, используемых для обработки металлов, в том числе, цветных, пластика и композитных материалов.

 

В проекте мы отрабатываем  новые режимы нанесения DLC покрытий для специальных применений - износостойкие покрытия для нанометрологии, биомедицинские и аэрокосмические применения.  

Инициативный проект, выполняемый совместно с учеными Школы естественных наук и Институтом проблем механики РАН, Москва.

В рамках проекта могут пройти обучение  до 2 магистрантов

Алмазоподобные покрытия для специальных применений

DLC nano coating drill .jpg
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • LinkedIn Clean Grey

© 2025 Александр Самардак

eng (1)_NG.png

690922, Россия, Приморский край,

о. Русский, п. Аякс 10,

кампус ДВФУ, Лабораторный корпус, L445

email: spinnanolab@gmail.com